Three Bills Introduced into the
Maryland State Senate

Hearings: February 11, 2009

NOTE: For email addresses of Committee members, scroll down to bottom of this page.

Senate Bill 100:

This bill proposes that public schools and child care centers not be allowed to sell or serve foods containing the following synthetic food dyes on or after July 1, 2010: Blue 1, Blue 2, Green 3, Orange B, Red 3, Red 40, Yellow 5, and Yellow 6.

See full text of SB100 (PDF)

Senate Bill 101:

This bill proposes that foods containing these colorings not be allowed to be sold or served in Maryland after January 1, 2012. Between January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2011, all foods containing them would be required to carry the following warning label:

"Warning: the color additives in this food may cause hyperactivity and behavioral problems in some children."

See full text of SB101 (PDF)

Senate Joint Resolution 3:

This bill urges the US Congress to enact legislation banning the use of these dyes in any food sold, served, or distributed in the United States. This joint resolution cites the work of the late Dr. Ben Feingold, who found that a diet eliminating synthetic food dyes, artificial flavorings and certain preservatives helps many children with hyperactivity and other behavior problems. It also cites the large number of rigorous scientific studies that have shown a link between food dyes and hyperactivity since 1977.

See full text of SJ3 (PDF)

We are working with the Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) in an effort to promote the passage of these bills.

For those of you who live in Maryland and want to send them a message, please do so before February 11, 2009 - the date of the hearings. You can address your comment to the Chairman of each committee with copies (CC:) to each of the other committee members, by cutting and pasting the email addresses below (including one to us). Or you may see their names, website addresses, and individual email links here.

If you need ideas on what to write, find some suggestions here.

To consider SB101 and SJ3

TO: Thomas Middleton, Committee Chair

CC: (Committee members)


To consider SB100

TO: Joan Carter Conway, Committee Chair

CC: (Committee members)